Fashion Function Tech and Style

Leather and Silk Look for Spring

It’s Coachella season and maybe you’re feeling daring and free wanting to try some looks that remind you of the festival! If you are jaded by all the Coachella inspired clothing your favorite fast fashion stores have for teens, try these grown up alternatives.

Silk and Leather

The concept isn’t new, This look has been around for a long time now and it is time to revamp this trend.

I created this look from a trend I see that is often overused. “The Leather Jacket over Dress look”

Luxor + Finch Style:

L+F Leather and Silk

 

Leather  two piece: T by Alexander Wang (top)  Acne Studios (bottom) | 3rd piece: Stella McCartney oversized silk-voile jacket | Shoe: Saint Laurent | Shades: Marc Jacobs | Book Bag: See by Chloe | Body Chain: Chan Luu | Ring: Jennifer Fisher banded double ring

 

Lip: Sin by M.A.C. | Cuff: Wouters & Hendrix Gold 'Signature Cuff' bracelet | Boot: IRO Keira Boot

Top

The leather pieces still function to keep the body warm  but the length of the silk garment also functions as both balance and length. For my body, I prefer a lengthy 3rd piece because it looks good on my height and because I’m more developed than most, I don’t need to be as exposed to convey sexy.

Shorts

I don’t wear too many short skirts but I love comfortable shorts because they are more functional for me. Most of my everyday looks are for pairing with sneakers or boots because I’m often on my feet and would prefer to be comfortable. Heels have their place.

Accessories

As an accessory minimalist, my everyday jewelry does not consist of more than two pieces, usually gold and small. If I happen to wear earrings they are almost always simple diamond studs,  ( Every year my parents gift me with a newer larger pair). I consider lipstick an accessory.

Bag

When it comes to bags, I really prefer my hands and arms to be free. I am somewhat inspired by my life as a grad student and I only really like black leather backpacks because they pair well with the majority of items in my wardrobe.

Shades

I love round shades….Whenever I smile I do not  worry about them sinking into my cheeks. ( and right now in my life I smile a lot)

Shoes

‘High tops’ make exposed legs look more attractive. That is why ankle strap sandals, heels and ankle boots can look sexy. It creates the illusion of a curvier leg. Curve = Visual difference in widths between thigh, knee, calf and ankle.

10 Minute Day to Night Change:

This look is easy to transition, style hair, find a great lip color,  switch shoe to a heel and throw on a cuff. New look in less than 10 minutes.

Only takes 10 mins to transform this look.

Only takes 10 mins to transform this look.

Lip: Sin by M.A.C. | Cuff: Wouters & Hendrix Gold ‘Signature Cuff’ bracelet | Boot:  IRO Keira Boot

Shape Notes

Large bust: Opt for a top with more coverage and support for your cup size.

Large bust: Opt for a top with more coverage and support for your cup size.

 

To Minimize a Waistline: Expose your midriff according to what feels comfortable. The slight exposure can shrink a usual wide waistline

To Minimize a Waistline: Expose your midriff according to what feels comfortable. The slight exposure can shrink a usual wide waistline

 Thighs: Consider a pair of loose fitting shorts with an angled hem.


Thighs: Consider a pair of loose fitting shorts with an angled hem.

Petite: Wear the 3rd piece more off your shoulders exposing more body to avoid the look drowning your frame.

Petite: Wear the 3rd piece more off your shoulders exposing more body to avoid the look drowning your frame.

 

Always make the look your own, the silhouette and color palettes are suggestions based on my taste and style preference. For style tips email me!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

